Skip to content
BIS Certification Schemes
Home » What Are The Different Types of BIS Certification Schemes?

What Are The Different Types of BIS Certification Schemes?

  • Blog

BIS(Bureau of Indian Standards) is the national standards body of India, it plays an important role in ensuring the quality and safety of that product. The product that contains BIS certification, goes under several testing. BIS has various certification schemes to ensure the quality and safety of the product. Here we will tell you about different types of BIS certification schemes.  

BIS Compulsory Registration Scheme 

BIS compulsory registration scheme represents a set of standards related to the quality and safety of many electronic products. This scheme was introduced by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. BIS CRS-certified products win the trust of consumers and help in making safer and reliable products. 

For BIS CRS certification manufacturers have to cover up all the steps defined in the procedure. This scheme sets a mark for products and reduces unfair trade practices. It is a voluntary scheme but for a few products, BIS CRS certification is compulsory. This registration scheme also increases your product reach to various markets. 

Foreign Manufacturers Certification Scheme 

The Foreign Manufacturer Certification Scheme by the Bureau of Indian Standards is an important certification scheme that allows foreign manufacturers to obtain BIS certification for their products. This indicates that their products meet the standards of quality and safety of products. This certification scheme can be obtained through several steps. An Applicant has to fill out the form and submit the documents required for this scheme. 

Every step is crucial in this process and holds a unique value for the completion of the product. After submission of the form, testing and verification of the product are done by the officials. This certification scheme applies to all products except electronics and IT products. 

To obtain foreign manufacturer certification, the manufacturer can take the support of a BIS Consultant in India. Through their support and guidance, manufacturers can get expertise in every step of the certification process. 

ISI Mark Registration Scheme For A Domestic Manufacturer

ISI mark registration scheme for a domestic manufacturer reflects the quality and safety of the product. This mark ensures consumers that the product follows all sets of Bureau of Indian standards requirements. Several electrical appliances need a mandatory ISI mark certification. Items such as electric iron, room AC, electric stoves, room heaters, freezers, electric cables, composite cement, various acids, etc. This mark works as a trust for the consumers as the product undergoes a process of testing and verification. 

To obtain an ISI mark the manufacturer has to complete the procedure and then officials provide a certification if they found your product meets the relevant standards. ISI-marked products ensure high quality and consumer satisfaction that eventually increases revenue. The ISI mark registration scheme contains two parts.

Scheme I is for the products for which certification is compulsory under the BIS Act 2016 whereas Scheme II means products that do not require compulsory certification under the BIS Act 2016 and the manufacturer can choose to get certification for those products. 

ECO Mark Scheme Registration

ECO Mark Scheme Registration reflects that the product is environment-friendly and meets the set of standards related to the environment. ECO mark scheme registration increases consumer confidence in eco-friendly products. ECO Mark certification is valid for three years and can protect consumers from fake products. 

ECO mark scheme registration includes soaps, paints, food items, lubricating oils, food additives, cosmetics, aerosols, plastic products, etc.  ECO-marked products decrease health hazards to consumers and promote exports and imports of the right products that do not harm the environment. 


The Bureau of Indian Standards plays an essential role in many aspects. Many schemes come under the Bureau of Indian Standards. BIS certification gives assurance to consumers that the product fulfils the safety and quality standards. BIS compulsory registration scheme is voluntary but for a few products, it is mandatory. This also reduces unfair trade practices. Other than this, the foreign manufacturers certification scheme allows foreign manufacturers to obtain BIS certification for their products that meet sets of standards. 
Whereas the ISI mark registration scheme is mandatory for a few products and other items it is not mandatory. To obtain ISI marks the product has to undergo a procedure. ECO mark scheme registration also comes under BIS, this scheme helps consumers to choose eco-friendly products. BIS Certification Consultant can help manufacturers with documentation, testing, verification, and overall certification journey.